Conference 2016

20th Annual Insure the Uninsured Project
Celebration Dinner and Conference

[Conference 2016] Email HeaderFebruary 8th and 9th at the Sacramento Convention Center

We’ve gone mobile this year. Download our app now to view the agenda, access materials and connect with attendees and more:

ITUP-Guidebook Badge

This year’s ITUP conference will focus on steps to close the coverage gaps and move Californians into a culture of health and wellness. Conference sessions will present a vision for the future of health reform, look at how to lay the foundations for a better integrated system, examine the implementation of California’s reforms today, and look closely at how we are improving our current systems and patient outcomes.

Download the full agenda and Conference session descriptions here: 2016 ITUP Conference Agenda and 2016 Conference Session Descriptions.

Conference Schedule

Monday, February 8, 2016
ITUP’s 20th Anniversary
Celebration Dinner

6:00p to 9:00pm

Sacramento Convention Center

Tuesday, February 9, 2016
8:00am to 5:30pm

Directly followed by

Awards Reception
5:30pm to 7:30pm

ITUP Achievement Award
Senator Ricardo Lara
California State Senator

For his pioneering work in advancing coverage for undocumented Californians

E. Richard Brown Awards
Honoring Pioneers in advancing whole person care

Cocktails and hors d’oeuvres will be served.

Keynote Speakers

Congressman Henry Waxman
Representative, 33rd Congressional District (Ret.)

Neera Tanden
President & CEO, Center for American Progress


Conference Sessions

Long Term Vision for California Health (Plenary)

  • Peter Long, Ph.D. – President, Blue Shield of California Foundation
  • Deborah Bachrach, J.D. – Healthcare Industry Partner, Manatt Health Solutions
  • Sandra Hernández, M.D. – CEO, California HealthCare Foundation
  • Lucien Wulsin, J.D. – Executive Director, Insure the Uninsured Project (Moderator)

California’s Waivers (Plenary)

  • Mari Cantwell – Chief Deputy Director, California Department of Health Care Services
  • Erica Murray – President & CEO, California Association of Public Hospitals & Health Systems
  • Mitch Katz, M.D. – Director, Los Angeles County Department of Health Services
  • Burt Margolin – Founder, The Margolin Group (Moderator)

Whole Person Care (Panel)

  • Jon Freedman – Chief Strategy Officer & Interim COO, L.A. Care Health Plan
  • Louise Rogers – Health System Chief, San Mateo Health System
  • Marv Southard, D.S.W. – Professor, USC School of Social Work
  • Peter Currie, Ph.D. – Senior Director of Clinical Transformation and Integration, Inland Empire Health Plan
  • John Connolly, Ph.D. – Deputy Director for Policy, Strategic Planning, and Communications, Los Angeles Department of Public Health, Substance Abuse Prevention and Control (Moderator)

Primary Care & Rural Health (Panel)

  • Liz Gibboney – CEO, Partnership HealthPlan of California
  • Dean Germano – CEO, Shasta Community Health Center
  • Marcia Sablan, M.D. – Sablan Medical Corporation
  • Neal Schiller, Ph.D. – Interim Dean, University of California Riverside School of Medicine
  • Michael Birnbaum – Senior Vice President for Policy and Strategy, United HealthGroup Center for Health Reform & Modernization
  • Michael Cousineau, Ph.D. – Professor, University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine (moderator)

Payment Reform: Value Purchasing (Plenary)

  • David Lansky, Ph.D. – CEO, Pacific Business Group on Health
  • Richard Kronick, Ph.D. – Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
  • Sharon Levine, M.D. – Director & Senior Advisor for Public Policy, Pharmacy, and Professional Development, The Permanente Medical Group
  • Lucien Wulsin, J.D. – Executive Director, Insure the Uninsured Project (moderator)

Covering California (Plenary)

  • Jennifer Kent – Director, California Department of Health Care Services
  • Peter V. Lee, J.D. – Executive Director, Covered California
  • Burt Margolin – Founder, The Margolin Group (Moderator)

New Coverage (Panel)

  • Mayra Alvarez, CEO, The Children’s Partnership
  • Louise McCarthy, President & CEO, Community Clinic Association of Los Angeles County
  • Reshma Shamasunder – Consultant, Former ED at California Immigrant Policy Center
  • Betzabel Estudillo – Health Policy Coordinator, California Immigrant Policy Center
  • Sarah de Guia, J.D. – Executive Director, California Pan-Ethnic Health Network
  • Burt Margolin, The Margolin Group (Moderator)

Health Industry Consolidation (Panel)

  • Greg Buchert, M.D. – CEO & Plan President, California Health and Wellness Plan
  • James Robinson, Ph.D. – Leonard D. Schaeffer Professor of Health Economics, University of California Berkeley School of Public Health
  • Shelley Rouillard – Director, Department of Managed Healthcare
  • Howard Kahn – Chair, ITUP Board of Directors (Moderator)

New Enrollment Challenges (Panel)

  • Nicole Oehmke – California Project Director, Enroll America
  • Michael Lujan – Co-Founder and Chief Sales Officer, Limelight Health
  • Dana Howard – Deputy Director of Communications, Covered California
  • Miranda Dietz — Researcher, UC Berkeley Center for Labor Research and Education
  • David Panush – President, California Health Policy Strategies (Moderator)

Share your experience with ITUP and followers by live tweeting during the conference using#ITUPConference 

ITUP’s programs and conference are funded by:






HMA blue tall

006 -  Molina Healthcare Logo STD-PMS320-JPG

CHRM without website_-30



Materials from the 19th Annual ITUP Conference are available here.

Materials from the 18th Annual ITUP Conference are available here.